Thinking & Writing

thinking & writing

I’ve been thinking and writing about several topics lately that are just not fully fleshed out, wrestled out, thought out, prayed out, felt out, and written out enough to post on the blog.

Although I’m completely on board with the idea that done is [often] better than perfect (trust me, I know how ineffective it can be to hold myself to a ridiculous standard of perfection), I also know that sometimes certain topics really are worth the extra time and consideration before publishing.

But I can at least give you an idea of a few topics I’ve been spending a little more time on:

1) Calling

A topic that has interested, fascinated, and baffled me for years. This fact is made obvious by my 31 Day Series I wrote on How to Better Understand our {God Given} Callings back in October 2011. My mind has been back there a lot lately. So I’m spending more time with it again.

2) Dreams / Goals

I know Ive mentioned this before. And I’m still thinking and writing about it. It’s just not organized.

3) Singleness

I’m hesitant to write on this and I’m not even a hundred percent sure why. I’m just not sure what value I have to offer the conversation, but I am single. Have been my whole life. And although I hope marriage is a part of my someday future, I genuinely want to live my single years well. With a Christ-like mindset, a servant heart, and eyes fixed on Him.

So while I continue to process and write about these topics (plus a few more) behind the scenes, I want to hear from you. Really.

What have you been thinking about? Writing about? Reading about? Or even listening to?

It doesn’t have to be serious. I have big plans to start reading The Paris Wife by Paula McLain this weekend, so if you’ve been reading any good novels lately, let me know those, too!

11 thoughts on “Thinking & Writing

  1. Meghan

    I have been thinking and praying for God’s will. His will on work, going back to school and maybe even changing careers.

  2. Katie Axelson

    I’m always hesitant to write about singleness too… but at the same time I feel like the conversation about relationships is only one-sided without us. It’s a precarious balance.

    1. Emily Post author

      That’s how I feel too, Katie … writing about singleness seems to involve quite a precarious balance.

  3. Tara

    Well, it just so happens that I finished Recovering Charles by Jason Wright. and it’s so, so good! Definitely recommend that book. πŸ™‚ As far as writing goes, I’ve written two posts on living through the storms of life, and a couple quite vulnerable ones on doubt and fear, but I’m giving a little more time to those. Annnnd a post on social media and what I’ve found the pros and cons to be (still working on that one too;) ). I’m super interested in your post on singleness! LOVE when my sisters and brothers in Christ talk about glorifying God in our single years. Have a great weekend, girl!

    1. Emily Post author

      Just went and looked at that book – it does look good! Thanks for the suggestion!

      You’ve got a lot of writing going on – and all such great topics! I need to hop over and read some of those. πŸ™‚

  4. Dawn

    Have really been thinking/wrestling with “calling” vs “invited” since Jonathan Littles last night prayer in Guatemala… Love Os Guiness book “the Call”- you might want to check it out!

    LOVE the idea of dreams and I think “real” talk about singles ness is always needed!

    1. Emily Post author

      Yep, I’ll second Katie and say I would love to hear more of your thoughts on calling vs. invited!

      That book looks great. Just added it to my list.

  5. Susan Stilwell

    Love hearing your dreams and excited about where the Lord is leading you, Emily. I struggled with my singleness and felt very alone, but we didn’t have blogs and ways to connect. I hope you’ll share your heart so that others won’t feel like they’re alone.

Comments are closed.