Graffiti Summer: Silence Births Vision

We’ve been intentionally leaning in to the Lord and stepping out to serve where He leads for six weeks now. This is the last week!

Thank you for coming alongside and hanging in there with me!

This Graffiti Summer Study and Do has certainly been both a journey and a challenge. But as the formal study comes to a close, I pray our hearts remain in this rhythm of seeking and serving Him for a lifetime.

For this last week, we considered how Moses approached times of quiet before God, how he handled times when God seemed silent, and how we can be encouraged during such times as well. Check out Alene’s post here for more!

DO Assignment: Look back over the Graffiti study and consider whether God is being silent or if He has already impressed upon your heart what to do next. And then DO it.

graffiti summer - silence births vision

As badly as I wanted to begin this study with a neat and tidy post, I maybe even more badly wanted to end this Graffiti Summer challenge with a neat and tidy post, but the truth is, I still just can’t.

Because the questions, the struggles, the unknowns … they don’t end here.

But the One constant hasn’t changed: Christ.

And I can think of no better note on which to end this Graffiti Summer challenge than to once again recognize that I don’t have to plan this life around a particular ministry or place to serve.

Rather, I simply trust the One who calls.

As my life revolves around Christ, I trust Him to take care of the details … the how, the where, the when. He knows the seasons of waiting, the seasons of doing, and all of the seasons in between that aren’t so easily defined.

He alone holds the future.

So I want to continue doing. Not just filling my head with knowledge that never makes a difference. But experiencing a change of heart that can’t be contained.

And I trust Jesus to do that in me. Because I certainly can’t do it in myself.

And yes, sometimes in the midst of the heart change, God seems silent.

But I wonder if more times than not it’s because I’m expecting God to speak in a certain way while He’s attempting to show me something in a completely different way.

I may not have perfect clarity regarding where He’s leading and re-directing. I may only have been given a glimpse. I may only have the one next small step. It may all still seem hazy and shadowy. But even in that, I hear His voice. I see His hand at work. I feel His prompting to love and serve.

And through the help and words of a dear friend, I see that through all of it, He’s leading me into an ever deepening trust in Him and in His faithfulness and in His Word.

So in the moments when that feels like God is silent, I want to sit in that silence. To be in His presence. To trust Him fully. To rest in Him completely.

So that all that’s left is humbly and honestly seeking His face.

Knowing Him more. Surrendering once again to His will. His way. His time.

Because this life isn’t about me.

And as I listened to the sermon on Sunday regarding the freedom we have in Christ, I couldn’t help but see the connection.

For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another.
Galatians 5:13 (ESV)

I’m free.

I don’t have to feel crushed under the weight of what I don’t understand in this life.

I won’t always know exactly where or how to serve. I won’t always get it right. But I can still live a life characterized by the love of Christ. By recognizing the freedom that is mine, by seeking first His kingdom, by stepping out and serving (in big ways and small) as He leads along the way.

So I keep seeking. I keep following where He leads. I keep trusting.

And He [God] said, ‘My presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”
Exodus 33:14 (ESV)

8 thoughts on “Graffiti Summer: Silence Births Vision

  1. Mia

    Dear Emily
    I find that we often try so hard to find the reason why we don’t hear God’s voice when all the time He is quiet because He wants us to just be quiet with Him in His presence as well. I know for a busy, busy performance orientated world, this might seems like a strange concept, but it nevertheless is true. Remember Mary?
    Blessings
    Mia

    1. Emily Post author

      I absolutely agree, Mia. It’s so important to just BE in the Lord’s presence. Yes, very much like Mary. Thanks for that reminder!

  2. Susan Stilwell

    This was my favorite part: Not just filling my head with knowledge … But experiencing a change of heart. Gracious, could I ever go OFF on that. It’s one of my burdens about women’s ministry: lots of Bible study options, but few options to serve. And the places TO serve are all within the church. How I long for the day Christian women will venture out into the community to volunteer with secular agencies and be salt and light THERE.
    Great post, Emily. Hugs to you!

    1. Emily Post author

      I would love to have a women’s ministry conversation with you, Susan. I’m thinking you would have much wisdom and insight to offer. I love Bible Study, but I am right there with you about being salt and light outside of the church, too! Hugs back, friend!

  3. Dawn Muench

    And..once again…LOVE this. I love what He’s taught you and that you are uncomfortable with the lack of a “tidy” lesson but talking/writing about it b/c that lets’ others know it’s ok when WE feel that way. Can I just say once more that I feel like you have found your voice. Seriously. The same sentence that Susan referenced is the one that really resonated with me too. Hugs friend 🙂 YOu encouraged me today.

Comments are closed.