5 Things I Learned in September

5Things - student ministry

1. I can survive a high school ministry lock-in as a leader. And though I may be a little more tired than usual for the following few days, I can love every minute of it because I love them. From the Amazing Race to the GaGa ball tournament to the straight up Gospel presentation at about 1am to the fabulous conversations, we couldn’t have asked for a better night!

2. All “Johnnies” pretty much talk the same. I’m reading “Notes From the Tilt-A-Whirl: Wide-Eyed Wonder in God’s Spoken World” by N.D. Wilson (who obtained his masters degree from St. John’s College in Annapolis, MD) and it sounds just like having a great conversation with my big brother (who obtained his undergrad degree from St. John’s).

3. Speaking of reading, I’ve discovered how much I really enjoy being a part of book launch teams. Three books in about six weeks (just wait. two more book reviews are coming over the next couple of weeks.) may have been a bit much, but still, all kinds of fun. Working with such generous and genuine authors and having the opportunity to read and share about good books is pretty much a win all the way around.

4. All of my commitments have come under serious scrutiny this month. Basically because I may have slightly over-committed and needed to scale back before I burned-out. So I’ve learned (or maybe I’m still learning…) that what I say “yes” to is important, but what I say “no” to is often equally as important.

And so although it makes me feel a little sad and a little left out, I’m saying no to writing another 31 Days series this October (previous series can be found here and here).

I’ve got a lot going on right now (including going back to Guatemala for a 5 day mission trip next month. woot!), and this is a necessary “no” for my sanity and restedness.

5. And this became one of my favorite songs:

“Our Deliverer. You are Savior. In Your presence we find our strength. Over everything. Our redemption. God with us. You are God with us.”
– God With Us (by All Sons and Daughters)

What did YOU learn in September?

—–

*linking up today with Emily Freeman at Chatting at the Sky as her community shares different things we learned in September*

10 thoughts on “5 Things I Learned in September

  1. Simply Beth

    The lock-in sounds fabulous! Bless your heart for helping to minister to those kids. I’m struggling with the reading lately…I can’t seem to finish a book. I completely related to over committing. I’ve been so overwhelmed and working on pulling back. It’s so required. I’m super excited for you to be heading to Guatemala soon. I wish I could go with you. My heart is aching to go back already. Blessings to you, Emily.

    1. Emily Post author

      It’s just hard to say no to good things that come up, right? Even if our commitment plate is already full. I’m trying to figure out a balance in this, which I’m pretty convinced doesn’t actually exist, but I’m still trying. And learning that some seasons are just more full than others…and maybe that’s ok. I’m excited for Guatemala, too! I totally understand that ache to go back! We leave a piece of hearts there, no?

  2. Mandy

    Hi Emily! I linked up at Chatting at the Sky after you. I so hear you on the difficult lesson of learning when to say yes and when to say no. I pray your nos free you up for great things!

  3. Erin @ My Mommy World

    Your blog caught my eye in the Chatting at the Sky link-up because I live near Baltimore 🙂 Glad to have found you! My list of things learned in September are quite a bit sillier than yours…mostly about nonsense on television and wild animals in my house.

    1. Emily Post author

      The name comes from the Inner Harbor in Baltimore, so that makes sense. 🙂 It’s one of my favorite places from my summer missionary days!

      Silly lists are totally good and necessary, too! I wanted to fit in that I learned how to park in a garage this month, too (after 5 years of townhouse living with a parking space), but I keep these lists to 5 (since I’ve been doing “5 Things” posts for a while) and it just didn’t quite make the cut. But I’m all kinds of proud of that silly accomplishment!! Ha!

Comments are closed.